CLIC experimental verification

CLIC experimental verification

The objective of the Experimental Verification activity is to conduct system tests at CERN and elsewhere - in most cases with beams - in order to validate the CLIC scheme and provide feedback to design and hardware development studies. The main activity is centered on the CLIC Test Facility CTF3, built at CERN by the CLIC Collaboration. CTF3 demonstrated the feasibility of the CLIC two-beam concept and its experimental program is now addressing some additional issues, critical for cost and performance. In parallel, other beam tests are ongoing within collaborative programs in other facilities, including ATF and FACET. Finally, the activity includes an R&D program on components targeted at the realization of a CLIC drive beam front-end prototype, including a drive beam linac RF unit (modulator and klystron).

        Indico page

                                                              List of work packages CLIC-EV

Recent publications and talks:

The future of CTF3 by R. Corsini, CLIC Workshop 2015

CLIC report by S. Stapnes, ALCW2015

Recent results from CTF3 Two Beam Test Stand by W. Farabolini et al., IPAC2014

CLIC studies - recent news and goals by S. Stapnes, LCWS2014

  Collaborators and projects

Australian Synchrotron, AUSTRALIA   Sincrotrone Trieste, ITALY
University of Melbourne, AUSTRALIA   University of Oslo, NORWAY
Australian National University, AUSTRALIA   National Centre for Physics Islamabad (NCP), PAKISTAN
Aarhus University, DENMARK   National Centre for Nuclear Research (NCBJ), POLAND
Helsinki Institute of Physics (HIP), FINLAND   Joint Institute for Nuclear Research Dubna (JINR), RUSSIA
Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique (CEA), FRANCE   Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics Novosibirsk (BINP), RUSSIA
Laboratoire d'Annecy le Vieux de Physique des Particules (LAPP), FRANCE   Centro de Investigationes Energeticas Medioambientales y Tecnologicasc (CIEMAT), SPAIN
Laboratoire de L'Accélérateur Linéaire (LAL), FRANCE   Istituto de Fisica Corpuscular (IFIC), SPAIN
Karlsruhe Institute for Technology (KIT), GERMANY   The University of Vigo, SPAIN
National Technical University of Athens, GREECE   ALBA Synchrotron, SPAIN
University of Patras (UoPatras), GREECE   Uppsala University, SWEDEN
Democritus University of Thrace (UoThrace), GREECE   Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI Villingen), SWITZERLAND
Athens University of Economics and Business (AUEB), GREECE   Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETH Zurich), SWITZERLAND
NCSR Demokritos, GREECE   John Adams Institute / University of Oxford, UK
Kavala Institute of Technology, GREECE   John Adams Institute / Royal Holloway University of London, UK
Prisma Electronics SA, GREECE   Cockroft Institute / University of Lancaster, UK
Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, INDIA   University of Dundee, UK
Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, IRAN   Accelerator Science and Technology Centre (ASTeC), UK
Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (LNF), ITALY   Northwestern University, USA
    SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA